Call for papers

The Department of Language and Communication at the University of Southern Denmark in Odense and the Centre for Communication, Culture and Society cordially invite you to the 53rd Linguistics Colloquium. The conference will be held 24–27 September 2018 at the University of Southern Denmark in Odense ( The theme of the 2018 conference is Linguistic variation and diversity.

The Linguistics Colloquium was founded in Hamburg, Germany, in 1966 and and since then has been held annually in a total of 18 European countries. It is devoted to research language and languages in all areas of linguistics. The Linguistics Colloquium is open to different theoretical approaches and aims to create optimal conditions for fruitful exchange of ideas and results by its cooperative discussion culture.

This will be the third time that the Linguistics Colloquium comes to Denmark, the previous two occasions being Copenhagen in 1971 and Aarhus in 1994.


 Topic Areas

Relevant topic areas of the conference include, but are not limited to:

  • intra- and inter-linguistic variation
  • cross-linguistic comparison – typological, contrastive, historical
  • language contact
  • multilingualism – individual, institutional, societal
  • language policies and minority languages
  • linguistic variation and diversity in the media
  • linguistic variation and diversity in language teaching
  • translation of linguistic variation


Keynote Speakers

  • Tanja Mortelmans, University of Antwerp, Belgium
  • Heiko Marten, University of Latvia, Riga
  • Sharon Millar, University of Southern Denmark in Odense


 Conference Languages

The main languages of the conference are English and German. As the Linguistics Colloquium supports linguistic diversity, we welcome parallel language use for giving papers and presentations, covering at least one of the main languages of conference, such as providing presentation slides in English accompanied by a spoken presentation in Danish, or a handout in Polish accompanied by a spoken presentation in German.


International Scientific Committee

  • Katrin Ankenbrand, Jan-Evangelista-Purkynĕ-University in Ustí nad Labem, Czech Republic
  • Stojan Bračič, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Eva Breindl, Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
  • Klaus Geyer (coordination), University of Southern Denmark in Odense
  • Cliff Goddard, Griffith University, Brisbane, Australia
  • Eva Skafte Jensen, The Danish Language Council, Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Alexandra N. Lenz, University of Vienna, Austria
  • Ole Letnes, University of Agder, Kristiansand, Norway
  • Mariann Skog-Södersved, University of Jyväskylä, Finland


Local Organisers

Klaus Geyer, Alexandra Holsting, Anna Vibeke Lindø, Rasmus Nielsen, Uwe Kjær Nissen, Simon Hedegaard, Lone Villemoes